Jun 2, 2014

Winners Named in Eighth Annual Rising Star of The West Scholarship Contest

Category: Station News

Philip High School senior Gavin Brucklacher is the winner of the eighth annual Rising Star of the West Scholarship contest on KEVN Black Hills FOX TV, sponsored by Black Hills FOX and Security First Bank. The four finalists in this year’s contest each delivered four on-air commentaries which were rated by both on-line viewers and a Black Hills FOX panel. Brucklacher was picked by a combination of those groups. He receives a $4,000 college scholarship.

Lead-Deadwood High School senior Tanner Ruth finished second in this year’s contest and wins a $2,000 scholarship.

Dupree High School junior Hannah Rose Higdon took third place and a $1,000 scholarship.

Homeschool senior Andrea Johnson finished fourth and is the winner of a $500 scholarship.

KEVN Black Hills FOX TV general manager Chris Gross says, “We’re proud to help further the education of our outstanding high school students here in the Black Hills I thought the competition was very even this year and all of the students did an outstanding job.”

Branch President Brent Russ says Security First Bank is proud to support The Rising Star of the West scholarship program and the opportunity it provides for our community’s youth. “Security First Bank would like to congratulate this year’s winners and wish all participants good luck in their future academic careers.”

Brucklacher joins Janesa Bakeberg, Annelise Ewing and Kaitlyn Hemmingson of Spearfish High School, Shad Christman of Lemmon High School, St. Thomas More’s Caila Brennan, Lead-Deadwood’s Jordon Barthel and Rae McKee of Nemo as winners of the Rising Star of the West scholarship contest.