Nov 2, 2017

WIBW 2017 Awards & Recognition

Category: Station News

WIBW TV has had a rewarding summer and Fall, with major recognition in three news competitions.

In June, the 13 News Team won eight gold plaques in the 2016 Kansas Press Club Kansas/Missouri competition. The news Team won a first place Newscast award for team coverage of the August, 2016 Kansas Primary Election.

The station took a gold plaque for our regular "Salute the Badge" weekly feature and another weekly franchise, "To Your Health."

The news team also took top honors in photojournalism, feature reporting, documentary, public service and breaking news.

13 News also took six Silver Awards.

In July, the 13 News Team took a Heartland Regional Emmy for our weekend coverage of a motel shootout and standoff that saw two officers wounded and the suspect killed after he set fire to the motel room and shot himself.

In October, WIBW TV took Station of the Year Honors at the Kansas Association of Broadcasters Awards banquet in Manhattan, Kansas.

The 13 News Team took firsts in AM Newscast, Sportscast, In-depth reporting, Special programming and three more first places award for commercial and promotional campaigns.

Final Award at the banquet was the Tony Jewell Community Service Award, which is presented to a single broadcast station among all Kansas TV and Radio stations. That award was in recognition of our weekly Salute The Badge franchise, in which reporters profile emergency responders who wear the badge of public service, highlighting the work he or she does that goes above and beyond their regular duties, in service to their communities.

WIBW TV is looking ahead to 2018, when we celebrate 65 years on the air.