Oct 5, 2017

KBTX 2017 Awards & Recognition

Category: Station News

KBTX is celebrating 60 years of service to the community in 2017! (Signed on air May 1957)

Texas AP Broadcaster Awards

- Division III Photojournalism
First Place: KBTX
- News Anchor or Team
First Place: Karla Castillo
- Spot Coverage
Second Place: KBTX
- Specialty or Beat Reporting
First Place: Courtney Burris "Cruisin' with Courtney"
Second Place: Kathleen Witte "Wednesday's Child"
- Deadline Editing
First Place: Rusty Surette "Deadline Editing- Parents Boot Camp"
Second Place: Whitney Miller "The 2016 election Through Renaissance Era Eyes"
- Sports Special
Second Place: KBTX for Aggie Gameday
- Honorable Mention:
Feature (Light) – Kathleen Witte "Front Seat Freddy."
Documentary/TV Magazine - "Xplained: Mike Fossum."
Series - "Councilman Rafael Pena Residency Issues."
Reporter – Whitney Miller
Daytime Newscast – KBTX
News Anchor or Team – Kathleen Witte and Rusty Surette
Spot Story Individual – Whitney Miller "Man caught on Camera Stealing Everything & the Kitchen Sink."

Excellence in My Market Award (EMMA)

- Breaking News
May 2016 Bryan Tornado And Flooding – KBTX - Josh Gorbutt, News Director; Rusty Surette, Anchor
- News Anchor
Karla Castillo
- Weather Anchor
Shel Winkley

Lone Star Emmy Nominations

- Talent – Anchor – News
Karla Castillo

2017 Addy Awards

- Silver Addy
Commercial Advertising Campaign- AB Hormone
- Bronze Addy
PSA Non Broadcast Audio/ Visual- American Heart Association
Commercial Advertising Campaign- Aggieland Humane Society
- People's Choice 2017 Addy
Aggieland Humane Society Campaign